Real or Satire?

Copy and paste any article URL below. We'll tell you if it's real.

motherjones.com -

Mother Jones reports investigative and breaking news on politics, the environment, human rights, and culture. It might be snarky and sarcastic at times, but it’s legit. From their Facebook page: Mother Jones is an award-winning nonprofit news organization that publishes in-depth investigative reporting, game-changing breaking news, and innovative coverage across politics, the environment, health, human rights, culture, and more. Their…



bigamericannews.com -

So this was the story that came to us for Big American News was — Dead Ebola Patients Are Rising From The Dead — with this for the accompanying photo — — which is from this mercifully short-lived 2008 TV show: So . . . it’s safe to safe this is satire. But, in case you want more proof, this…



thatoregonlife.com -

This one is, thankfully, an easy one. The link submitted to us was this one: Portland Police arrest 35 in Black Friday vegan strip club riot From That Oregon Life’s About Us page: That Oregon Life is a satirical and entertainment website. We only use invented names in all our stories, except in cases when public figures are being satirized.…



waterfordwhispersnews.com -

This is another of those sites that you wouldn’t have any idea it was fake unless you clicked on the “Disclaimer” link up in the header. Per their disclaimer: With fun stories about the Pope commissioning J.K. Rowling to rewrite the Bible and NASA just assuming we already knew about aliens, you can see how WWNews gets its rep as…



abiyamo.com -

Abiyamo is a Nigerian news and entertainment blog. It’s likely real with global stories slanted towards the African culture in general, and Nigeria specifically. One story they had (Egyptian Court Quashes One Of The Two Life Sentences Handed To Ex-President Mohamed Morsi) check outs with both BBC and Aljezeera. Sometimes you will find stories that have no source cited, like…



cnn.com.de -

My father always told me: "If it's too good to be true, then it's probably not." That's certainly the case with an article we're reviewing from CNN.com.de. Read onward!



thepeoplesview.net -

Heavy Caveat: We’re loathed to consider thepeoplesview.net (TPV) “real,” because it’s mostly opinion, but it is a site that makes their opinions based on data they’ve culled. But it makes no attempt to hide its liberal slant. From their About page [emphasis mine]: This blog is devoted to examining issues from a liberal perspective, on factual bases and on fair…



bitelabs.org -

Although not a news site, I figured I’d go ahead and throw our hat in the ring about Bitelabs.org. How many of you saw the movie “Antiviral”? The premise is this: In a dystopian, celebrity-obsessed near-future, Syd March is employed by the Lucas Clinic, a company which purchases viruses and other pathogens from celebrities who fall ill, in order to…



delightfulknowledge.com -

Delightful Knowledge is only moderately delightful. A couple of their articles, namely, the article “NASA Confirms Earth Will Experience 6 Days of Total Darkness in December 2014!,” cite Huzler.com as a source. Huzler.com has the following disclaimer in their footers: “Huzlers.com is a combination of real shocking news and satirical entertainment to keep its visitors in a state of disbelief.”…



enduringvision.com -

Enduring Vision graciously reveals its satirical nature in its own logo. But read on to find out why we really like their site!



poacencur.com -

I don’t know what Poacencur is, though it sounds painful. But on the footer of their page, it reads — This website is a satire and should be treated like one. We do not own any of the content, which may be removed by anyone. — so . . . that’s that.



morningnewsusa.com -

MorningNewsUSA is a tricky little bugger. Read onward to find out why.



witscience.org -

There is no Wyoming Institute of Technology. Period. There is, however, a much shadier WyoTech, formerly known as Wyoming Technical Institute, which is a for-profit college system founded in Laramie, Wyoming, in 1966. But that is neither here nor there. The image on witscience.org’s About page — — is the same image on www.southdreamz.com page (a self-noted Entertainment blog) —…



ebuzzd.com -

I was contemplating marking eBuzzd as both real and satire, seeing as they have a couple items on their site that are kinda sorta true; however, any truth on their site is likely happenstance. eBuzzd represents to me the worst sort of ‘satirical’ page. As of this writing (3-13-2014) the first three articles are all celebrity tragedies, designed solely to…



wundergroundmusic.com -

Fake, though funnier than most. A mirror to www.wunderground.ie. From their Disclaimer page: Wunderground is a fictionalized, satirical publication. Its content should in no way be interpreted as an actual record of events, unless a story specifically states that its contents are an actual recording of events.



disclose.tv -

I love a good alien story. From the horror of Alien and The Thing to more farcical offerings like Starship Troopers. Apparently, Disclose.tv does too! In their story NASA Admits It Is In Contact With Alien Species And Just Forgot To Mention It, they tell a yarn about an absentminded NASA just . . . forgetting to tell us about…



empireherald.com -

One of the ways to check if a news source is legit is to simply look at the site itself. At first glance, Empire Herald seems fairly legit — the site looks polished and well formatted. But the site’s footer is ripe with broken/non-existent links, particularly the contact us and advertise links, both of which point to a # relative…



newyorker.com -

While the New Yorker is, of course, real news, the URL that came our way was for the Borowitz Report. From Andy Borowitz’s Wiki page: In 2001, he founded The Borowitz Report, a site that posts one 250-word news satire every weekday. Borowitz also hosts The Moth, which is a most excellent storytelling show on public radio.



nbc-news.net -

We almost feel bad reviewing nbc-news.net. Undoubtedly, seasoned RoS visitors wouldn't fall for the site's cheap tactics. Putting this here kinda feels like we're insulting our readership. But . . . someone submitted it, so we're obliged to review it.



rense.com -

Jeebus H. Criminy! Not only is the site straight out of Web 1.0, reading their Disclaimer page is like reading a freakin’ Proust novel. But are they real? Or Satire? Or . . . ?



Copy and paste any article URL below. We'll tell you if it's real.